Working Groups

DOJ GEN operates five working groups that seek to advance gender equality throughout the Department.  The groups address: 1) sexual harassment and misconduct, 2) leave issues and workplace flexibility, 3) leadership and advancement, 4) recruitment and retention, and 5) special projects.  Descriptions of each working group and the contact information for those looking to join are included below.

1) Sexual Harassment and Misconduct

  • Work to ensure that every component vigorously enforces DOJ’s “zero tolerance” policy toward sexual harassment and advocate for Department-wide structural changes to address systemic problems
  • Serve as a resource for those who have experienced or witnessed sexual harassment and misconduct, including:
    • Create awareness that employees can file an EEO claim and may only have 45 days to do so (unlike private-sector employees who have at least 180 days to report to the EEOC)
    • Guide employees to other avenues for reporting incidents, including filing a complaint to the Office of the Inspector General (OIG)
    • Advocate for a Department-wide climate survey and more robust mandatory trainings
    • Pressure the administration and individual components to implement the OIG’s recommendations for eliminating the systemic problems it has identified
    • Work to eliminate the practice of transferring serious offenders from one office to another

Contacts: Stacey Young, Stacey.Young@usdoj.gov; Carmel Morgan, Carmel.Morgan@usdoj.gov; and Colleen Phillips, Colleen.Phillips@usdoj.gov.

2) Leave Issues and Workplace Flexibility

  • Implement a survey to compare leave policies and flexible work options across DOJ components
  • Analyze survey results and advocate for better leave and flexible work policies

Contacts: Eliza Dermody, Eliza.Dermody@usdoj.gov; Danielle Garten, Danielle.Garten@usdoj.gov; Stefanie Hennes, Stefanie.Hennes@usdoj.gov; Melanie Krebs-Pilotti, Melanie.Krebs-Pilotti@usdoj.gov; and Elizabeth McDonald, Elizabeth.McDonald@usdoj.gov.

3) Leadership and Advancement

  • Plan brown bag lunches devoted to strengthening leadership, including a program with women leaders and a program about gender differences in communication as they affect the workplace
  • Advocate for and use data relating to diversity in leadership positions and roles within DOJ components

Contacts: Danielle Garten, Danielle.Garten@usdoj.gov; Melanie Krebs-Pilotti, Melanie.Krebs-Pilotti@usdoj.gov; Emily Polachek, Emily.Polachek@usdoj.gov; Tiana Russell, Tiana.Russell@usdoj.gov; Megan Schuller, Megan.Schuller@usdoj.gov; and Kimberly Wilkins, Kimberly.Wilkins@usdoj.gov.

4) Recruitment and Retention

  • Raise DOJ GEN visibility at recruiting events (like the summer intern career fair)
  • Establish student mentoring program – have members volunteer to serve as informal mentors for students
  • Organize speaker events
  • Examine implicit bias in recruiting
  • Develop exit surveys & exit interviews for departing employees

Contact: Ilene Albala, Ilene.Albala@usdoj.gov; Kisha Barnes, Kisha.Barnes@usdoj.gov; Karen Hansen, Karen.Hansen@usdoj.gov; and Carolyn Vines Sapla, Carolyn.V.Sapla@usdoj.gov.

5) Special Projects

  • Promote Intersectionality:  Look for opportunities to develop a broad and diverse DOJ GEN membership
  • Training Advocacy:  Advocate for greater training on gender-based implicit bias
  • DOJ Women’s Health Care Awareness:  Create a pamphlet discussing government employee benefits and access to reproductive health services
  • Tackle other projects that may not fit within the other workings groups’ descriptions

Contact: Lindsay Dunn, Lindsay.C.Dunn@usdoj.gov and Heather Moss, Heather.Moss@usdoj.gov.